top of page

Abdoulaye Mar Diop

Today, I focused on gathering more information for my research topic "What impact does community support have on the educational attainment of St. Louis females". I defined community members as family, teachers, school counselors and coaches, local non-profit organizations/agencies, religious members, etc. I had the opportunity to interview female students about their roles at home, what education represents to them and any barriers that they may face in receiving an education. The responses for roles were very similar- cleaning, assisting mother in one way or another, etc., as were the responses to what education represents to them- a means to a better future. The major variation was on the question of perceived barriers to education.

Later that night, we all went to our In Country Consultant, Mrs. Diop's, home and enjoyed a feast of chicken yassa, grilled fish, fries, rice, loaves of bread and the most beautiful salad I had ever seen before. Hands down, this was one of the best meals I had while in Senegal.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page