top of page

A lesson learned

I had the opportunity to teach a 6th grade English class with my host teacher, Aissatou. There were approximately 40 students in her class. The lesson that I led was on short sentences with embedded colors and common foods. I found my new students to be ultra eager to learn and willing to work at improving their English language skills. I saw the drive the students had and their sense of oneness- a willingness to support one another in their educational attainment. I learned that my Senegalese students are just the same as my students back home in that most try hard to succeed and they can really appreciate some positive reinforcement from their teacher along the way. Part of the positive reinforcement that I used was allowing students to earn yellow, red, green, blue or white wristbands that have Senegal and the Senegalese flag along with USA and the American flag. I hope to see these wristbands being worn by students the next time I visit St. Louis.

After our workday ended, Rupa and I had the privilege of being invited to Aissatou's home for a treat of a meal, chicken yassa (my favorite), and great conversation.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page